POST MERGER INTEGRATION

Grow innovatively through strategic acquisitions and diversification.

There are good reasons for private equity or industrially oriented groups of companies to invest in new business areas, new technologies and new companies on the one hand, and to acquire and integrate entire companies on the other. Strategic and operational synergies become possible through the acquisition and integration. For medium-sized companies, the main focus is on knowledge transfer and securing skilled workers, as these factors are the innovation drivers of tomorrow. By strategically acquiring new business areas, companies can create competitive advantages over their rivals and gain early access to new growth technologies and markets. For private equity investors, on the other hand, the focus of the takeover is on the opportunities for growth as well as returns. 

The buy-and-build strategy is a growth strategy that is frequently used by investment companies of various types and medium-sized companies as well as corporates to differentiate their portfolios through further innovative solutions. An important factor for the success of the buy-and-build strategy is a long-term strategic orientation and a focus on synergies. Investors and companies must ensure that they select the right target companies and that the associated integration process is thoroughly planned and executed. In addition, it is also important to avoid certain pitfalls, such as overestimating synergy potential or underestimating implementation costs.

An important factor for the success of the buy-and-build strategy is a long-term strategic orientation and focus on synergies. Investors and companies must ensure that they select the right target companies and that the integration process is thoroughly planned and executed to ensure that the synergy potential is fully exploited. It is also important that investors and companies avoid certain pitfalls, such as overestimating synergy potential or underestimating implementation costs.

SUCCESS FACTORS OF AN INTEGRATION

Preparation

Successful integration of a company begins at the start of the M&A process. Through this early approach, value is not destroyed but preserved. Our approach includes the realization of synergies between the involved companies, which includes the evaluation of potentials for revenue and cost synergies, the support of "clean teams", negotiation support, pre-close planning and analysis, post-close integration support, the development of carve-out strategies and concepts as well as the preparation of implementation agreements.

Strategic alignment

It is understandable that private equity investors and strategic buyers want to realize their additional premium quickly, but too much speed can do more harm than good. It is important to jointly develop a balanced process of giving and taking speed in order to successfully master the integration. Particularly when bringing together different cultures and people, great sensitivity is required. Neglecting cultural due diligence and an integration plan can destroy mergers and acquisitions as well as shareholder value.

Risk Management

It is also important that investors and companies avoid certain risks, such as overestimating synergy potential or underestimating implementation costs.  Unfortunately, however, mergers and acquisitions usually destroy shareholder value, which can be due to various factors, such as a lack of clarity regarding the M&A strategy, inadequate preparation of one's own company for the transaction, purchase prices that are too high, underestimating the complexity and time required to realize synergies, and a lack of internal M&A competencies.

rad-768x572

HOW WE HELP YOU
IN YOUR INTEGRATION 

Startify's process experts help implement a buy-and-build strategy and integrate acquired companies in medium-sized business groups.  We provide support in identifying suitable target companies, evaluating synergy potentials and planning and accompanying the integration process. Our services also include support in overcoming challenges and conflict potentials during the integration process. In the PMI process, "Glue Guys" are needed to keep everyone on board and believing in the shared vision. Getting buy-in in the change process requires time, resources, and thorough preparation and tact in the doing.

The PMI team can also draw on its years of experience in organizational strategy and value activation. Our goal is to ensure that our clients have the best possible insight into the transaction and can plan accordingly to enable success and value creation. In doing so, we work internationally and collaborate with industry teams to ensure that our clients receive a seamless service throughout the transaction cycle. This applies to large transactions as well as mid-sized or smaller companies. A successful integration succeeds in realizing the desired value. Because the whole is greater than the sum of its parts!

WE HAVE ALREADY

ACCOMPANIED THESE GREAT COMPANIES

Unknown
5-1

More content about M&A topics

 MEDIA

How top companies build corporate startups

Professional article

Read more

The spin-off of Brands in Green

PODCAST

hear more
CW_neu-e1658907079806-768x760
Just get in touch with us!
Christian Wewezow, Managing Partner

POST MERGER INTEGRATION

Strategische Zukäufe erfolgreich integrieren.

Es gibt gute Gründe für Private Equity oder industriell geprägte Unternehmensgruppen einerseits in neue Geschäftsfelder, neue Technologien und neue Unternehmen zu investieren und andererseits ganze Unternehmen zu erwerben und zu integrieren. Durch den Zukauf und die Integration werden strategische und operative Synergien möglich. Für mittelständische Unternehmen steht dabei vor allem der Wissenstransfer und die Sicherung der Fachkräfte im Vordergrund, da diese Faktoren der Innovationsmotor von morgen sind. Durch den strategischen Zukauf neuer Geschäftsfelder, können sich Unternehmen Wettbewerbsvorteile gegenüber der Konkurrenz schaffen und frühzeitig Zugang zu neuen Wachstumstechnologien und -märkten erschließen. Für Private Equity Investoren stehendagegen bei der Übernahmedie Wachstums- sowie Renditechancen im Vordergrund. 

Die Buy-and-Build-Strategie ist eine Wachstumsstrategie, die häufig von Beteiligungsgesellschaften verschiedener Façon und mittelständischen Unternehmen sowie Corporates eingesetzt wird, um Ihr Portfolio durch weitere innovative Lösungen zu differenzieren. Ein wichtiger Faktor für den Erfolg der Buy-and-Build-Strategie ist eine langfristige strategische Ausrichtung und der Fokus auf Synergien. Investoren und Unternehmen müssen sicherstellen, dass sie die richtigen Zielunternehmen auswählen und der damit verbundene Integrationsprozess gründlich geplant und durchgeführt wird. Zudem ist es auch wichtig, dass bestimmte Fallstricke, wie die Überschätzung von Synergiepotenzialen oder die Unterschätzung von Implementierungskosten, vermieden werden.

Ein wichtiger Faktor für den Erfolg der Buy-and-Build-Strategie ist eine langfristige strategische Ausrichtung und der Fokus auf Synergien. Investoren und Unternehmen müssen sicherstellen, dass sie die richtigen Zielunternehmen auswählen und dass der Integrationsprozess gründlich geplant und durchgeführt wird, um sicherzustellen, dass das Synergiepotenzial vollständig ausgeschöpft wird. Es ist auch wichtig, dass Investoren und Unternehmen bestimmte Fallstricke vermeiden, wie die Überschätzung von Synergiepotenzialen oder die Unterschätzung von Implementierungskosten.

ERFOLGSFAKTOREN EINER INTEGRATION

Vorbereitung

Eine erfolgreiche Integration eines Unternehmens, beginnt bereits beim Start des M&A-Prozesses. Durch dieses frühe Vorgehen wird der Wert nicht zerstört, sondern bleibt erhalten. Unser Ansatz beinhaltet die Realisierung von Synergien zwischen den beteiligten Unternehmen, wozu die Bewertung von Potentialen für Umsatz- und Kostensynergie, die Unterstützung von "Clean Teams", die Verhandlungsunterstützung, die Pre-Close-Planung und -Analyse, die Post-Close-Integrationsunterstützung, die Entwicklung von Carve-Out-Strategien und Konzepten sowie die Erstellung von Umsetzungsvereinbarungen gehöre.

Weitsicht und Geduld

Eine gute Integration bedarf Weitsicht, Geduld und Liebe zum Detail. Im Prozess der Integration ist es wichtig durch Empathie und Kompetenz, Vertrauen aufzubauen und den Ball im Spiel zu halten. Die Mitwirkung und Akzeptanz aller Seiten im Prozess des Zusammenwachsens ist erfolgskritisch, wenn langfristig eine Integration gelingen soll.  Investoren und Unternehmen müssen dabei sicherstellen, dass sie die richtigen Zielunternehmen auswählen und dass der Integrationsprozess sorgfältig geplant und durchgeführt wird.

Fingerspitzengefühl

Es ist verständlich, dass Private Equity-Investoren und strategische Käufer ihre Zusatzprämie schnell realisieren wollen, jedoch kann zu viel Geschwindigkeit mehr Schaden als Nutzen stiften. Es gilt einen ausgewogenen Prozess des Tempo-gebens und -nehmens gemeinsam zu entwickeln, um die Integration erfolgreich zu meistern. Gerade bei der Zusammenführung verschiedener Kulturen und Menschen ist großes Fingerspitzengefühl gefragt. Die Vernachlässigung der Cultural Due Diligence und eines Integrationsplans können Fusionen und Übernahmen sowie den Shareholder Value zerstören.

rad-768x572

WIE WIR SIE
BEI IHRER INTEGRATION
UNTERSTÜTZEN

Die Prozessexperten der Startify helfen bei der Umsetzung einer Buy-and-Build-Strategie und der Integration von erworbenen Unternehmen in mittelständischen Unternehmensgruppen.  Wir unterstützen bei der Identifizierung geeigneter Zielunternehmen, der Bewertung von Synergiepotentialen und der Planung und Begleitung des Integrationsprozesses. Unsere Leistungen umfassen auch die Unterstützung bei der Bewältigung von Herausforderungen und Konfliktpotenzialen während des Integrationsprozesses. Im PMI-Prozess sind "Glue Guys" erforderlich, damit alle Beteiligten an Bord bleiben und an die gemeinsame Vision glauben. Um die Akzeptanz im Veränderungsprozess zu erhalten, benötigt man Zeit, Ressourcen sowie eine gründliche Vorbereitung und Fingerspitzengefühl beim Doing.

Das PMI-Team kann auch auf seine langjährige Erfahrung in Bezug auf Organisationsstrategien und Value Activation zurückgreifen. Unser Ziel ist es, sicherzustellen, dass unsere Kunden den bestmöglichen Einblick in die Transaktion haben und entsprechend planen können, um Erfolg und Wertschöpfung zu ermöglichen. Dabei arbeiten wir international und kooperieren mit Branchenteams, um sicherzustellen, dass unsere Klienten einen reibungslosen Service während des gesamten Transaktionszyklus erhalten. Dies gilt sowohl für große Transaktionen als auch für mittelständische oder kleinere Unternehmen. Eine erfolgreiche Integration schafft es, den gewünschten Wert zu realisieren. Denn das Ganze ist mehr als die Summe seiner Teile!

DIESE UNTERNEHMEN

HABEN WIR BEREITS BEGLEITET

Unknown
5-1

Weitere Inhalte zu M&A Themen

MEDIA

So bauen Spitzenunternehmen Corporate Startups

FACHARTIKEL

Mehr

Die Ausgründung der Brands in Green

PODCAST

mehr
CW_neu-e1658907079806-768x760
Sprechen Sie uns einfach an!
Christian Wewezow, Managing Partner